Do you know what you are ?

“That is the way to learn the most, that when you are doing something with such enjoyment that you don’t notice that the time passes.” ~ Albert Einstein

einstein 1

I remember the best grade I got in my essay was the one I wrote with such intensity and focus that I forgot all else existed. I was literally in my world, in my story, in my enjoyment.  It was kind of effortless effort because I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The other essays which I tried so hard to conjure up, typed, wrote neatly and nicely didn’t get me grades as good as that. I put in a lot of effort, but it wasn’t a task that sucked my body and soul into another realm. Hence I have always reckoned that to be successful in something one must be entirely immersed in that realm.

But dear Mr. Einstein, not everyone has such intense burning passion that lasts a lifetime, as you do in a particular subject.  Slowly, focuses scatter and distractions seep in. How did you do that? Despite the difficulties, despite the obstacles in front of you, you maintained your love and passion for your field. That is why you succeeded in cracking the code and I am still trying to figure things out. How did you do it? Does anyone know how he did it? Does anyone know how anyone rose above it all?

Perhaps I might just be judging my ability to climb a tree without recognising I’m a fish…..  Do you know what you are?Image

One response to “Do you know what you are ?

Leave a Reply

